Bronze Quill 2017 – Call for Entries


The International Association of Business Communicators’ (IABC) Bronze Quill Awards recognize outstanding employee communications, public relations, media relations, community relations, government affairs and marketing communication efforts. The Tulsa Chapter’s Bronze Quill Awards is open to all communicators – members and non-members alike.

Quick Facts:

  • Early deadline for entries is Friday, Dec. 16 by midnight.
  • Final deadline for entries is Saturday, Dec. 31 by midnight Monday, January 16 by midnight (EXTENDED).
  • Awards ceremony will be Thursday, March 30.
  • Fellow IABC members from other chapters across the U.S. will review entries and provide solid feedback.
  • Entry fees:
    • IABC members: $50 per entry
    • Non-members: $60 per entry
    • Non-profit and students: $40 per entry

How to get involved:

Submit an entry!
(Submission Deadline Passed) A win would look awesome on your resume and the trophy would look super-fancy on your desk.

For questions about Bronze Quill, contact Kim Kuehler at or 918-838-5177.


Bronze Quill 2016 Recap

Last week we got our kicks on Route 66 for our annual Bronze Quill Awards ceremony.  With over 160 attendees, we had a blast recognizing our area’s top communicators. Guests also answered trivia questions from our emcee, Josh Ritchey, of Live Event Trivia to compete for “100 Grand.”

Bronze Quill award winners serve as a benchmark in our industry for excellence in creativity, skills, management and overall, producing measureable results. We thank you for entering your projects and for attending the event.

For those of you who submitted an entry, you should have received your final scores and judging feedback this week. If you haven’t, please contact Kim Kuehler at

We will be reaching out soon to collect duplicate award orders.

Thank you for your support, and please enter your projects again next year!

2016 IABC/Tulsa Bronze Quill award winners:

  • IABC/Tulsa Lifetime Dedication Award: John Simmons
    • John Simmons helped establish the Industrial Editors of Tulsa, which eventually became IABC in 1971. He served as president of the Tulsa chapter, was named district chair in 1972 and served on the IABC International board from 1972 to 1974.
      In 1984 John received IABC International’s prestigious Chairman’s Award for service to the organization and to his profession. John was involved in planning district conferences and was incremental in founding IABC/Tulsa’s Bronze Quill awards program.
  • Leon Bolen Service Award: Hayley Westwood of ONE Gas
  • Best of Show: Keith Isbell of Williams for his entry in the Audio/Visual for “Rockaway Wow!” Keith scored 6.54 out of 7.
  • John Hartman Professional of the Year: Kendra Thompson of Cancer Treatment Centers of America
  • Communicator of the Year: Shagah Zakerion, Executive Director of TYPros

[Read more…]